Nikki Giovanni…a voice…

July 22, 2008 bsmith101
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I don’t know what I was doing but I decided to see if there was anything on youtube on Angela Davis…I thought of Huey P. Newton…and then my mind went to Nikki Giovanni.

So, I punched it up and I have to share it with you…not that I agree with it.  But it is funny.

Most of what I talk about is serious stuff. 

I am not a comedian…and couldn’t tell a good joke if I tried.  Believe me.

My son tells me often-

“Ma, you are not funny.”

I consider Nikki Giovanni an icon and was happy to see that I could find some footage on her.   And even though I don’t necessarily agree with all of her opinions in these clips…she is funny.  

And we can all stand to laugh from time to time.  And it never hurts to be able to laugh at ourselves every now and then.

So, smile…and enjoy.  

I have the utmost respect for both Dr. Bill Cosby and Dr. Condoleezza Rice…as well as Dr. Giovanni, who still has that same voice after all of these years.   And it is just as strong as ever.

I am happy to agree on those thing in which we can all agree and disagree on those that we do not agree upon. There is just no way that all people are going to agree on all things…or even most of the people.   It is the way that it is.

I have 7 siblings…and none of us can agree on anything.

But the good part is when you can disagree and still love each other. That day hasn’t come in our household yet…and maybe not in the black community either.  It is something for us all to work towards.

Well…. …God bless… …and enjoy your day.  ©2008

Entry Filed under: Angela Davis,Bill Cosby,Condoleezza Rice,freedom of speech,Lesbianism,misch.,Nikki Giovanni,Reality Check,Stong Women

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. sand  |  March 12, 2009 at 5:06 am

    Ms. Rice is a robot, or better yet she was used as a tool by the Bush Administration to show Black people that Bush was representing them. We all remember NOLA! Ms.Rice got caught in the middle and paid the price. Just being a body is not enough to make a positive change. A body without a soul is nothing but someone else’s tool!

    Mr.Cosby? no comment!

    Ms.Giovanni? Standing tall in her younger years and in her older years and articulating without restraint! She took the bold road and made trails where no one would trek. She is an example for all women of color!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
