Mauh…and me…technology..

February 19, 2009 bsmith101
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, it is snowing again.  It is suppose to snow through the night… then turn to rain and sleet by tomorrow morning.  So, I know that tomorrow will probably be a day to stay home.  But I don’t mind all the snow.

For the past few days the mounds of snow which we already have had started to melt down pretty good.   For February this really isn’t so bad… not yet.  It has been said that February goes out like a lion… meaning either a lot more snow or plenty more cold.

On Monday, I decided to do something that I had been hoping to pay someone to come in and do for me.  Through the years my parent’s house has taken such a beating.  And the kitchen walls and woodwork looked so terrible…and I would have liked to have found someone other than me to come in bld06569812and clean them.  But since the house is without heat due to our blown furnace as you may or may not have read in a couple of my earlier blogs…I have been keeping the stove on with a couple of pots boiling water.  This has caused everything in the kitchen area to stream up.  Which meant that all that filth that I had been forced to look at which had caked upon the doors and other woodwork over the years in the kitchen have been steaming down off  the doors etc…etc…   So, since it had already loosened up the years of  grime… I just decided to pull out a bucket and an old scrub brush and get busy.  And that is how I spent my President’s Day.

It  felt good to be finally getting those doors scrubbed down and then standing off  to view my handy work.  Real good.  I had been loathing touching the doors or anything else in the kitchen… or for that matter around the house.

ks1238371When we were kids… I hated those Saturday mornings when my parent’s woke us up early in the morning with buckets of soapy hot water waiting on us.  It meant that we would be scrubbing most of the day.  

Oh, how I hated those Saturdays when they would have us scrubbing down all the woodwork in the house and then scrub the floors too.  And my father liked to have us get on our hands and knees to do that.  Oh, how I hated it.

But as I started washing down those filthy doors with the old scrub brush thoughts of those days came back to me… and I was filled with pride.  Because here I was… in my parent’s house again… and I was taking care of their property just the way they had taught me so many years ago.

While my son was talking to me last night… he happened to mention that I wouldn’t be able to watch TV anymore if I didn’t go out a buy a converter box.  This is the thing I hate about new technology.

Why do they have to force it down our throats?

There are so many people who went out and invested in those large projector type televisions or other older models… only to find out that  that television system is now out dated and they have no option but to convert it to a digital reception dsa090231system.

They did the same thing when they decided against 8-track tapes, beta systems, turntables, records, VHS tapes, cassette tapes etc…etc…etc…all gone now.   What you see is…is that the old stuff goes on sale and those looking for great deals rush out unaware that the only reason the stuff is on sale in the first place is because they are out dated…and that format is no longer going to be available…because they simply stopped making it.

Today, I’m looking for someone to build me an external floppy drive disk reader.  I hadn’t realized it until the other day when I was looking for something… that I didn’t have those files on anything digital… but on a floppy disk.  For which I have also run into the same problem with my word-processor files which I had saved on my processor’s little disk.  I had not been paying any attention and before I 552891knew it word-processors were no longer on the market… they had been replaced by computers.   And it had took me a long time to convert from a regular typewriter to a word-processor.  

So, by the time I finally bought one…a word processor… the item was nearly dead already… and computers were coming into the marketplace taking over their place.  And I had never noticed.

This is why when my son wanted to buy a 10″ DVD player…I cautioned him and told him no.  I suggested that he invest in a laptop computer instead…where he would have a choice of much larger screens plus be able to do more with it.  And he did just like his mother had suggested… just like the good little boy he is (smile).  Now, when his mother is away from home or can’t get on-line on her own computer… I just use his laptop.   Now, how good is that… for being resourceful?

http://tech.yahoo.com/blogs/patterson/38843

http://www.dtv.gov/

https://www.dtv2009.gov/

No, no need trying to fight it.  It is a done deal.  If you want to continue to watch television… and got rid of your cable provider years ago… then you will have to go out and invest in a converter box.  The good part though is… I rarely watch television.  So, it really doesn’t affect me much.

Well, it is still Black History Month… and I really haven’t spoken about anyone inBlack Thunder, Josephine Baker Art Print by Paul Colin these blogs… outside of giving you their names.  What good is my telling you all about them… when researching to find out that information for yourself will prove more valuable to you… in that you may remember them or something about them because you looked up info on them on your own.

I can only say that I have a deep fondness for black people… and have for all of my life.  I have read many books… and loved Langston American Authors of the 20th Century - James Baldwin PosterHughes’ book on Jesse B. Simple.  I used to always have a copy of the Black Anthology.  Read Baldwin’s  ‘Amen Corner’… which I saw performed by Kumuba Workshop under the direction of  Val Grey Ward.  It was one of the things which also inspired me to move to Chicago… besides, of course, my hopes of getting hired by a radio station there… WGCI or WJPC.  I have forgotten the other black radio stations they had in Chicago back then.  But I loved those productions by Kumuba.  But even more I enjoyed the time I actually met James Baldwin.  He wasn’t a very big man…and he looked very much like his photos.  But there was Muhammad Ali vs. Sonny Liston Postersomething about him… an aura about him… I guess you could say.   He extended his hand out towards me looking me right in my eyes.  And I knew I was in the presence of greatness… yet so humble… and kind.  He was quite gracious and unassumming.  I loved him.

I had seen the play… ‘Amen Corner’… and I had read his book ‘Go Tell it on the Mountain.’   But at that time, I never knew that he was still alive until he went to Mt. Holyoke College to teach.

Alexis, a friend of mine had introduced him to me.  They had become very close and I could see and understand why.  They shared something in common.  It is hard if you have never felt that you looked as good as everybody else…it is hard to understand how some people battle with these Miles Davis Poster by Herman Leonardfeelings most of their lives…as did James Baldwin and myself.  It is what I thought about Gwendolyn Brooks when I looked upon her picture as I added it into my last blog.  Yet, in every picture of her…she always seemed so happy and smiling.  And as I looked upon her pictures…I thought-

“She must have been a most beautiful person in ever possible way.”

Most recently I had to take some pictures.  I should preface this by saying…I am 12170101not a big picture taking person…because I have never liked the way I looked.  But I needed a promotional picture for my book.  So, I set about trying to get one that I felt I could live with.  But upon taking a few pictures and looking at them…I found that I have my grandmother’s nose.  I must admit I have been laughing and smiling ever since.

I have my grandmother’s nose.  And I never knew it.

My grandmother didn’t have just any old nose…it was unique.  And I had not seen anyone else with it until we went to the church convention in Detroit this past July.  While there we re-united with some long lost cb0508bda_00201family members.  And I sat there almost the whole time looking at this woman…a cousin…and thinking-

“She has Mauh’s nose.”

It was all I could think.  I just kept thinking that over and over again in my head…and I rarely took my eyes off of that woman’s nose because I loved seeing it.  Malcolm X PosterSo, to look into a picture and find that I have my grandmother’s nose is like finding out that all of these year’s God had played a trick on me.  I have my grandmother’s nose.

I love having my grandmother’s nose.  I can’t believe I have it.  And I have it all by myself… no one else just me and that woman… my mother’s cousin in Detroit.  We’ve got Mauh’s nose.  Seeing that nose I didn’t feel so ugly anymore… because Mauh was not ugly.  And in her day… she really must have been something… and even up to the time she died… she still had a boyfriend.  Or should I say… male friend.  I used to kid her about Mr. Alexander…the old man who everyday used to come by her house to visit with her while we were down there. Kennedy Assassinated Art Print

Mauh’s entire wardrobe was made of red.  Everything in her house was red.  Every pocket book she had was red and every pair of shoes.  Her bed spreads…everything…table cloths…everything all red.     Everything Mauh owned was red.  And if  it wasn’t…then it was pink.

Daddy used to say that from the time he met Mauh-

“She’s always been 30.”

He would grin real wide when he said it…because Mauh never admitted her age to anyone. 

But she was never ugly.  And I had her nose.

skn0061And from that moment I started seeing myself in a different light.  And you know what?

I’m not ugly.  I’ve got Mauh’s nose.Nelson Mandela Poster

I’m not ugly.  And for all these years I thought I was.

Hope you enjoy your day tomorrow.  I will probably be buried up under the snow…but I will be loving every minute of it…and still smiling.  Because…well…because I’ve got Mauh’s nose.  And it feels so wonderful.

Well, God bless…

Thank you for reading this blog…and  my others.  Please be sure to continue to share this blog site with your family, co-workers and all your friends… “pass it on” www.bsmith101.wordpress.com ©2009

Entry Filed under: Chicago,Cities,Dealing with loss,death,Estate Matters,Family Values,fuel,Giving unto others,holidays,lost of love ones,Media,Parenting,property dilemas,Radio Industry,Respect of History

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Most Recent Posts

 
