Making it through…the winter….

February 13, 2011 bsmith101
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The snow outside the house is still nearly 5′ high… and just a few moments ago I saw flurries.

 Clearly, we can all say that we have had a ‘real’ winter this year.  Combined with plenty of… no.  Combined with lots…and lots…and lots… and lots of snow, we have also had more than our share of frigid weather as well.  With tempts dipping down into the minus’…something we hadn’t experienced much of in the past few years.

It has been the kind of  winter…that if you could have only stayed in… with a cup of  steaming hot chocolate and  a nice thick book  it might 2ab-the-bishop-wifecoverhave been nice… real nice indeed.

A book…like perhaps my book, THE BISHOP’S WIFE.

Okay…okay…just kidding.  Though I did get my first royalty check from the sales of  my book.  That was exciting.  And I smiled all to myself thinking about it as I dragged myself  back out to shovel snow for the 3rd time that day.

Can’t say I mind shovelling snow at all though.  It reminds me of the days when my father would be outside with my brothers shovelling out the sidewalk and driveway…and then they would turn right around and then do Miss Lynn’s yard for her.  Miss Lynn was the elderly lady who lived right next door.

I think that it is really true about blessings.  All of our lives my family has been exceedingly blessed.  And when I reflect upon it now…I know that it must have been due to the great level of  kindness my mother and father showed to others.

They were very giving.  We rarely eat Sunday dinner alone…or holidays as my mother always invited people to come and join us.

And it really wasn’t until after my father had passed that I really became aware of the true level of his giving.  While mommy made fruit baskets and took flowers to the hospitals and nursing homes visiting upon those she knew and didn’t know… daddy in his own unique quiet way was busy doing and giving too… and it went far beyond doing Miss Lynn’s yard winter, spring summer and fall.

It is profoundly interesting to have lived in the company of such extraordinary people and to be so blind as to just how extraordinary they really were.

I guess you can say that it just ‘like’ kids…always taking things for granted.   You know the way we are… or were while growing up.  Always mommy I need this… or daddy I want that.  And never really thinking or consecrating on anyone else outside of yourself.

It seems that as we develop and grown we seem to develop a propensity to moving more and more towards selfishness… and  following that id thang that they all talk about in those psychology books.  That part of us that seeks only to please ourselves.

Over a period of time it is amazing that a child so giving… as an adult becomes so uncaring and unwilling to share anything with anyone.

What is it about life that hardens us in such a way?View Bernadine Smith's profile on FiledBy

Is it life experiences?

Or is it that those parts of  us which were at the time more Christ -like somehow  withered away…and got replaced or shoved to the side somewhere deep inside…just like those mounds of  snow outside our house?

Imagine  if  certain qualities we had as children still remained in each of  us today…just how much better of  a place this world might be today.

Hope you are enjoying whatever weather God has laid at your door today.

Well, God bless…

Thank you for reading this blog…and  my others.  Please be sure to continue to share this blog site with your family , co-workers and all your friends“pass it on…”  www.bsmith101.wordpress.com  ©2011

Entry Filed under: Family Values,Parenting,The Bishop's Wife

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wanda Lindle  |  March 14, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    Hi, Sister Bernadette , glad to have caught up with u again, do u remember me Sis Stanley, we met at the Mt or maybe Temple of Deliverance Church of God in Christ on Cumberland Street in Brooklyn we used to walk.., some where along Fulton Street, I believe you lived near

    and I lived in Atlantic Terminal, but I do remember that you were an usher at the Mt.., we also attended noon day prayer with Evangelist Edna Branch, her daughter Sis Rosie, Sis. Capers all of whom are gone on.., not to mention some others whom I can’t remember…, well take care be blessed good to see you and I can see that you are really busy!!!

    • 2. bsmith101  |  March 15, 2011 at 5:14 am

      Wow…this is so great. How are you? Unbelievable. Can’t believe you tracked me down. Hope all is well. Up watching video footage on Japan. Tremedous devastation. All I can think is last days and times… and that ‘it shalt not come nigh thee.’ So, happy I know Him. Well, God bless… I am still smiling. Just can’t believe you have found me.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Most Recent Posts

 
